Aside

Series: What Shapes my Labor of Love – Part I

A master in the art of living draws no sharp distinction between his work and his play; his labor and his leisure; his mind and his body; his education and his recreation. He hardly knows which is which. He simply pursues his vision of excellence through whatever he is doing, and leaves others to determine whether he is working or playing. To himself, he always appears to be doing both.- French writer François-René de Chateaubriand

One late night in the office, I paused quickly to jot down that “Recruiting is crack for me.   There are few greater feelings than the  escalating crescendo/hum in my head, that quickening pulse, that jolt as I find someone and know he/she’s what I’ve been looking for.  Like finding the missing piece of a puzzle.  Days where my head doesn’t feel like it’s about to explode in every direction from the pandemonian spindle of people, numbers, and deals I’m furiously threading, are the dreaded moments I feel least alive. So, it’s not that I don’t have the ability to fail; it’s not that I have some ‘recruiting acumen’ that supersedes those of others in my field.  It’s the mere fact this literal, insatiable hunger-itch is going to keep me thrusting forward through heady nights of sourcing and connecting.”

Over the past year, as I’ve continued to forge ‘uncharted territories’ of success from a metrics standpoint in my career, a driver gaining volume is the mantra I took from an article that inspired October 12, 2013 post “What was your last question to anyone?”  (from Huffington Post: “The questions that will save your relationships“)  that ‘life is a conversation.  Make it a meaningful one.’  Every good dialogue with another is another good [deeper] dialogue with yourself.  Every meaningful conversation is like cracking open and reading a new book, traveling another journey, cracking open a glimpse at another world of and beyond geo-spatial realms.  I sometimes confess that, I’m not so much interested in people as I am what makes them tick, what drives them.  It’s like peeking under the hood of a car.  Like listening to their heartbeat.  Seeing what stars dot their night skies.

I could talk ‘shop’ all evening at happy hour; I usually warn colleagues that they’ll need to tell me when to stop.  I confessed to someone recently that if I could engineer anything into a side dream job somehow, it would be one where I could question people all day. Drill deeper, travel deeper, move further forward- whether the exploration be around their/our work, or what made them fall in love long ago and out of love, or what their idea of a heaven would be.

Leave a Reply

